To Davis on your First Birthday

First Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie Belle

Our Davis boy turned one today. Below are a few photo memories from the party. THANK YOU to all of our family and friends for your attendance. It was a beautiful day and we loved having you! Photo credits to Tiffany Davis, our friend and photographer.

To my son, here is your first birthday letter: I don’t want this to go unsaid and to have these words and memories lost forever. We are only in this moment briefly, so in these words we can remain here forever. And maybe when your older and no longer adore me like you do, take a read. I’m certain when I’m older and forget how little you used to be, I’ll be reading too.

In the beginning and in my first thoughts of you I had worried my heart hadn’t the capacity for more–I was already maxed out, fulfilled, complete. Where would you fit? But one year ago, before you even knew how to breathe, you taught me something. My heart was not like a container that gets filled up; it expands and multiplies. It’s container-less, endless, and my love, limitless.

I am lucky to get to spend this time with you and your sister–to be home more. I’ve heard a million times over it goes by in a blink and it’s already happening. I’ll miss our mornings–me with my coffee and you with your banana dancing to umizoomi and chasing me all over the kitchen. I’ll miss how you’ll lay your head to rest on my shoulder when your ready for your nap and your beaming smile illuminating me whenever I come back into your view.

I sometimes think how nice it will be for you to not need me so much, how much easier it will be and all the things I could get done–but I know this is what I’ll miss the most–this time now, and how much you need me. Some day you’ll no longer need me to hold you and you won’t tug at my legs to lift you up.  There won’t be anymore rocking chair songs with giggles, and no more drooly baby kisses.

Every day from here forward, you’ll need me less and less. And here I will remain, needing you just the same today as I will tomorrow and the day after. So please know–my need and love for you will never change and will never lesson. I am excited to see you grow, but will miss this time. Happy first birthday son!

First Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie BelleFirst Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie Belle2015-09-29_0148First Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie BelleFirst Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie BelleFirst Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie Bellefirst birthday vintage decor rentals - brossie bellefirst birthday vintage decor rentals - brossie belleFirst Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie BelleFirst Birthday Vintage Rentals Smash Cake - Brossie Belle  First Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie Bellebouncy house! first birthday partyFirst Birthday Party Bouncy House - Brossie Belle First Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie BelleFirst Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie Belle First Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie BelleFirst Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie BelleFirst Birthday Party Vintage Decor - Brossie Belle

One thought on “To Davis on your First Birthday

Leave a Reply

